Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Marking chickens

rancor3026

Exclamation Marking chickens

I am new to this soprt and new to this site. I have had my birds the last four years and was always confronted with questions from my friends in Seattle about how my roosters are unmarked. Then I was told that marks can be a form of a cut on the chickens web, or a punch on the toe web. I am confused because if I have different kinds of breed how will I exactly know which breed is it. I guess my confusion comes from the fact that if I have a breed of a RH and mark the offspring on the left toe and then another breed of say sweater, and still put the toe punch on the left toe web, how will I know which one is sweater and which one is RH. I did not asked any further because I feel stupid not knowing . I have a few breeds which I think needs markings but how will I start? Does anyone have a chart of toe punch markings? If I have 8 different breeds, can I mark all on the left or right toe web. Please help!!!!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Marking chickens

I have many breeds and my markings got so confusing because after while there tend to be marking duplications. Like you said, you have about 8 different breeds. That is okay. The problem starts when you have 3 families of each breed (and in your case you end up with 8 x 3 = 24 markings because the marking should identify which Roundhead family and which Sweater family, which breed is on the cock and hen side? Then, you end up with 8 x 3 = 24 x 2 = 48 markings. Ayyyyyyyyyy.

To save me from going crazy (or add to my craziness), I use the Excel Spreadsheet.

My gosh I really need help.

Post Thanks / Like