Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Proper way to breed a trio....

Post Thanks / Like

Proper way to breed a trio....

I have heard that you can raise 4 different "families" from a single trio of gamefowl. I am not an expert on breeding and do not know how this is possible. I know what inbreeding and linebreeding mean, but still unsure how to breed to keep a family going strong out of just one trio. Any advice would be appreciated. Bobby

2. Thanks ehmong, Yunke8888 thanked for this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Proper way to breed a trio....

your trio must have differnt bloodlines!!!

4. Likes Yunke8888 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

if the breeder you got them from is still alive i woukd ask him 'only' how to keep em going, and have many empty pens or cords to fill.

6. Likes dungeon, Yunke8888 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

OK I am going to run through this kinda of fast so keep up with me. You do not need cross bred trio at all this will work for a pure trio. I known a couple people to use this method and keep families going for 40 years and more the longest this method has worked and still working is over 60 years from 1 trio no new blood added.

Single mate cock to both hens. Take best stag breed to mom and take best pullets bred back to dad. Ok now you got 3 lines here is the tricky and hardest part. Find a friend that will bred them your way and not add any new blood to them. 2 friends would be even better on this. Take 1 line to 1 friends house and leave them and the other line to another friends house. Every four or 5 years go pick up fowl from your friends and take them fowl. This way it is like adding new blood due to difference in ground, water and etc etc. It maybe like adding new blood but, it is the same blood. Just remember selection is the key here. Just like any other breeding selection will make or break a family of fowl.