Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: StraightComb Lacey

Post Thanks / Like

StraightComb Lacey

Anyone have one or ever raised a straight combed Lacey Roundhead ? I've been told you will have a "throwback" pop up sometimes ?? Just curious to everyones thouhts on this esp from you genetic GooRoo's ..... Thanks !!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: StraightComb Lacey

I have been raising lacey and bruner for thirty-five years and never seen one pure cock
    come straight comb yet.

Post Thanks / Like

couldn't wait to see those straight comb lacy's

Post Thanks / Like

Norman sold rebels ,= whitehackles /lacy cross and they were very good ,but certainly not full lacy's ,and not a throw back its just a good battle cross.

Post Thanks / Like

I was at Oscars yrs ago when Harold come to pick up a lacy cock he had let Oscar borrow to breed. This cock was strait comb with firerie red eyes. Other than the strait comb he was a typical looking lacy. My understandig is that judge Lacy breed a butcher cock at one time to his roundheads.

C G

Post Thanks / Like

HISTORY OF THE LACY ROUNDHEAD

LACY ROUNDHEADS BRED BY THE ORIGINATOR

Judge Ernest Lacy of Jasper, Alabama was the originator of the Lacy Roundhead. In 1911, Judge Ernest Lacy started to breed gamefowls of different strains but finally fell in love with the Roundheads for being simply the best of all the stocks which he had.

The making of an excellent bloodline, which has been adored by many breeders and cockers to this day, did not come easily, for it took Judge Ernest Lacy years before he perfected and created his own strain—The Lacy Roundhead.